This week: World Wind Energy Award 2011 goes to Sewedy Wind Energy Group under the leadership of Ahmed El Sewedy

On the occasion of the 10th World Wind Energy Conference 2011 in Cairo, Egypt, the Board of the World Wind Energy Association has decided to give the World Wind Energy Award 2011 to Sewedy Wind Energy Group SWEG under the leadership of Mr Ahmed El Sewedy.

Cairo/Bonn,03.11.2011. With the Award, the World Wind Energy Association recognizes the company’s leading role in introducing wind power on a large scale in Egypt, the MENA region and in Africa.

Elsewedy Electric is a major electric company based in Egypt, with 10 000 employees. In 2008, the company bought a 30 % share in the Spanish gearless wind turbines manufacturer Manuel Torres Ólvega Industrial (MTOI), increasing its share to 90 % in 2010. With this acquisition, El Sewedy company has become the first major wind turbine manufacturer in Egypt, the Arab World and Africa.

By entering the wind business, Mr El Sewedy has demonstrated vision and leadership into a renewable energy future in a region where wind power had so far only a minor role. Wind energy will have to become a main electricity source in the region and it will be of crucial importance that the wind industry will also create local jobs, as done by Elsewedy.

Considering the bright prospects of wind power in the region and the strength of Elsewedy, the company can be expected to play a similar role in Egypt and in the region like other national champions, some of which received the Award in previous years.

WWEA would also like to indicate that the association sees it as a major task to foster the creation of domestic wind industries around the world. For this purpose, WWEA is working closely also with new companies such as SWEG and to extend its full support and cooperation in fostering the wind markets in the MENA region and many other new wind markets all over the world.

World Wind Energy Award

The World Wind Energy Award is an award given once every year to personalities and organisations who have contributed extraordinarily to the worldwide proliferation of wind energy utilisation. The previous World Wind Energy Awards were given to:

2010: the Founding Member States of the International Renewable Energy Agency IRENA.

2009: the Hon. George Smitherman, Deputy Premier and Minister of Energy and Infrastructure of

2008 jointly to: Ms Jane Kruse, and Dr. Preben Maegaard, Denmark, Paul Gipe, USA.

2007 jointly to: the Hon. Ms Dilma Vana Rousseff, today President of Brazil, former Chief of Staff Minister of Brazil and former Minister for Mines and Energy, Ms Laura Porto, Director of the Department of Renewable Energy of the Ministry of Mines and Energ, Mr Valter Luiz Cardeal, Director of Engineering and interim President of Eletrobrás, Dr. Sebastião Florentino da Silva, Coordinator of the Proinfa Programme at Eletrobrás.

2006: the Chinese wind turbine manufacturer Goldwind under the leadership of Mr Wu Gang.

2005 jointly to: Hon. Vilas Muttemwar, Indian Minister for Non-Conventional Energy Sources, and Dr. Pramod Deo, Chairman of the Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission.

2004 jointly to: the German Minister for the Environment, Hon. Jürgen Trittin, and the German Parliamentarian Dr. Hermann Scheer.

2003: the Indian wind turbine manufacturer Suzlon under the leadership of Mr Tulsi Tanti.

2002: Prof. Dr. Amin Mobarak, Chairman of the Industry and Energy Committee of the Egyptian Parliament.

Keyword Search

© smart dolphin Gmbh 1999 - 2021 | Legal Notice | Windfair Editors | Privacy Policy | The Windfair Pocket Wind 2020